Sunday, May 1, 2011

Cloth Diapering and fussy baby

I am really looking into cloth diapering from here on out. There are some super cute all-in-one systems, that accommodate sized 9lbs to 40lbs, which would cover our girls until they are potty trained. Kelly could use them now, and by the time she is done, Layla would be big enough for them. We went to the Dogwood Festival here in Fayetteville yesterday and there were tons of stands and such, and I ended up spending a long time talking with the lady from Bumbledoo. www.bumbledoo.com I really like the idea of never having to buy diapers again. Yes, it would be an incredible amount of laundry, however, with babies it is any ways, so what the heck? Plus, its not really the sort of laundry you have to fold, just throw it in a drawer and be done with it. The diapers cost $18.99 each. Other brands are cheaper, and I looked on ebay and there are some awesome deals for "like-new" ones...the only problem is I want to try them before we invest. When I get to CO on Wednesday, I am going to finish researching this and take it to the next step and actually purchase some.

Obviously we want Kelly potty-trained, but not sure when she will be ready for that. I was potty trained on my 2nd birthday, and my sisters by their 2nd B-day's or before...Kelly doesn't quite seem ready yet though, but we could be wrong. She tells us sometimes when she needs to poo and has gone in the toilet, but its not every time by any means. She only weighs like 25#, so she would fit the cloth diapers perfect.

Oooh sweet, dear Kelly. My mom came out the Saturday after Layla was born, (praise the Lord!) and stayed to help out while Aaron was in his surgery rotation. She left last Wednesday with Kelly. I think I mentioned all this already? Any way, I miss her like crazy. But it has been easier without her, can't ignore that fact.

Layla is a typical newborn. She gets quite fussy after 6pm, and sometimes takes in excess of 2 or more hours to sooth. We try everything from nursing, swaddling, rocking, swinging, pacifer, etc. Eventually she tires out and sleeps deep. In fact, tonight it took only 1 hour, but its been about 4 since she last ate, so needless to say I will have to wake her in a couple minutes...Last night I had to wake her, and it took over 20 mins to get her lucid enough to eat. I tried everything from undressing, running water over her skin, finally I suctioned out her mouth, which she hates, and thus she awoke. Then she didn't empty them, so I pumped the rest. All in all, I got <4hours of broken sleep, which is typical. I sometimes feel like I am having trouble caring for her, and that scares me because I know its going to be even harder when I get to CO and have to balence my time and attention again between her and Kelly. Though I will be at my mom's house and they and my family will be around, they shouldn't have to do the care giving, they are my kids after-all...

So today, she was fussed out in the early afternoon. She was well fed and I thought we'd be able to go for a walk like we did the day before (we cover 3 miles!), but she had other ideas. After a mile (not continuous because of all the times I had to stop to quiet her), I brought her home, Aaron was here, I was in tears, and he told me to go by myself and he'd take care of her. I eventually calmed down, as did she, and left the house. I felt like running, so I did, for 20 minutes straight, at about a 10min/mi pace! I actually felt decent for the most part. My uterus, or low-low abs felts WEIRD, but it was fine. So all in all another 3 miles today. Good, considering all the dozens of cookies I have eaten this weekend. I haven't weighed myself in a week...I think I will still wait. I can put on my size 2 pants, but they are tight. I really need to tone up, expecially my stomach, but I know I must be patient about it...its just so hard though. I want to be able to wear my old clothes and feel good in them, not like they are too tight. I'm sick to death of wearing baggy t-shirts.

Alright my breasts feel like they are going to burst. Oh yeah, and I was able to clear the milk ducts and my left breast feels/looks a lot better, yay!
I have more to say, but need to feed my Layla-bug.

1 comment:

  1. I love your blog, just like old times! :) you're so honest, I wish I could be as open in my blog, but our family reads it, so basically it's only the good part of motherhood and none the stressfull parts, but don't worry we have our hard days too! especially in the beginning, I cried everyday, wondering what the heck I got myself into.
    why do you feel like you're having trouble taking care of her? im sure you're doing a great job. babies cry, if someone says they have a baby who is perfectly content all the time they're lying! sometimes I had to put ally in her crib and go out on the porch to take a 5 minute break before I went insane. one day she cried for a total of 5 hours (not consecutive), I was almost died.
    can't wait to read about you cloth diaper adventures, we really want to do cloth but I dont even know where to begin.

    ReplyDelete