Friday, May 6, 2011

traveling with Layla-Bug by plane

I was beyond anxious about this, but in the end it really worked out. She gets really crabby in the evening. That's my opinion, my mom disagrees with me. I guess to me a baby that is crying and wants to be held, then not, doesn't want to eat, likes the pacifier but spits it out (by accident I'm sure), then cries or whines, and carries on like this for 1-3hrs, then sleeps. Anyway, this is when we were flying. BUT in the end, I nursed her before we left NC, they left me bring the car seat on, so she just slept in it the entire time, about an hour. Then when she woke up when we were getting off the plane, I couldn't feed her right away because had like 45 mins to get the the next gate and had to jump on the train at the Atlanta airport to get the the right terminal, blabla...so by the time we got to the gate, I couldn't change my seat (had a middle seat, yuck!), and the plane was completely full any ways. So Layla was crying, screaming really, then finally boarded, (I missed pre-boarding so had to wait in line). My row had 3 seats, no one was there yet, so I took the window, stuck my teet in her face, and she immediate started sucking and was soothed back to sleep after finishing.

Well, when the person, man, came whose seat I commandeered, he looked over, and being covered with a receiving blanket with little baby legs sticking out at one end, it was obvious what I was doing, so he said I could take his seat and he would try to switch with someone, i.e. a woman. Well, the woman that had the aisle admittedly refused to seat next to me, along with everyone else the boarded in the back with us. It was so fucking ridiculous. Its not as if I had my boobs hanging out for God's sake! In the end, the guy sat next to me and was really nice, he is ex-special forces, old, etc, so we got along just fine. And Layla slept the entire 3 hours of that flight, only to wake up after landing and again start demanding to be feed, but poor thing had to wait til we were off the plane, which took forever because we were at row 31!! Then, I still had to go to baggage claim and meet my mom who was picking me up. My cell phone died, so I couldn't even call and tell her I needed to feed her first. It was really sad, but then she got fed, very well, shortly there after.

Staying at my mom's is always nice, for the most part. There is a lot of people, 3 brothers (the oldest of which just left for a bike trip to Santa Fe, he is c-r-a-z-y though, we'll just leave it at that), 1 sister, my mom, a small dog. So there is a lot of drama, but I can live with it. And its nice having help, though I really feel like I have to do everything, because they are my babies...feeling this way though causes much frustration. My mom's house is much larger than our house in NC, with different levels, bedrooms are upstairs, and so I am constantly running up and down the stairs because of things I have forgotten, or to retrieve Kelly or whatever. BUT hey, I am getting more routine-type exercise, and I have lost another 2 pounds! Now, only 5 pounds above goal weight.

Yesterday I took both babies to the park that's a few bocks from here, we walked using the phil&teds. It would well because Layla slept the whole time (after we had to turn around and go home really quick so I could feed her, we only got to the bottom of the driveway that time). Kelly wasn't that into it, bt we stayed for about an hour anyways, then walked to the YMCA, and I got info on memberships. They have childcare with a family membership, up to 2 hours everyday. Even though my mom has a treadmill and weights and stuff, I would love the break everyday ;-) so I am going to talk to Aaron about it, thats what I want for Mother's day!

OK, so Layla is waking up and probably needs to eat, so more when I can :)

No comments:

Post a Comment