The past few days have been really good. Layla has still had her usual fussiness in the evenings, but even that we seem to been figuring out, because she fusses shorter amounts of time and is easily soothed with the right amount of attention and cuddling. Everyday she is more and more interactive. Yes, she still sleeps a lot (Praise Jesus!), but when she is awake, she is very content, loves to kick her legs and pump her arms, smile, and coo. We have been giving her the pacifer (the green ones they use in the hospital), and she will still pacify herself on me, which is fine, but when I am busy (usually with Kelly), she accepts the "dummy" and is fine.
She is not on any set schedule yet, that will come in time, she is after-all only 5 weeks old! During the day she usually nurses at 0545, 0830-0900, 1130, then if I run I will try to feed her right before, so like 1300, then afternoon usually like at 1600, then almost hourly (because she is so fussy), until like 8pm, the once more late, like 1030-11pm, the she will sleep a lot of times until I wake her up because my boobs are so full it wakes me up like around 0300 (I usually end up just pumping because she is so sleepy and not really hungry, she won't nurse more than like 5mins/side). All in all, she take in like 7-8 really good feedings a day and then however many other "snacks" she wants. She is getting so big!
So I threw my back out on Wednesday. I don't know what I did exactly, it was probably because I was holding Layla over my shoulder and also trying to vacuum at the same time. My back felted all jacked up after, and then when I woke up yesterday morning I thought I was going to die! I couldn't twist at all from side to side or bend over at all. Of course instead of resting I decided to try to run-BAD IDEA! I ended up only running like 2 miles and walking like another 1.5, all at like 5+% inclines. Holding Layla most of the day and walking her really made it tired by the night and it hurt so bad! Like, 10/10 on pain scale! I am a wimp when it comes to pain, how I ever made it through child birth with nothing idk, thank God of my doula Doris Ann, I don't think I could have done it without her. Any way, I took one of my pain pills I had for the pelvic pain and that helped a little, combined with 800mg motrin.
Later in the night, when I knew Layla was good for a long several hour stretch, and Kelly was in bed, Aaron came over with his roommate and when Colleen got home from work we all went to Back East while my mom babysat. It was fun to get out without the babies for adult time. I had almost 2 bluemoons, and A LOT of water. The entire time I was out I was exhausted and thought about Layla and Kelly. Its really hard being away from them, as much as I need the break. It was really fun. I ended up driving Aaron and his roomie back to his mom's house (3 miles from my mom's) and then I came home and stayed up talking with my mom for a little bit, then finally went to bed. It was a really good night!
Today, I took both babies to the grocery store by myself for the first time. It was a breeze! I hope its always that easy. We were only there like 15 or 20 mins, Layla needed diapers, and Layla was asleep in her carseat, but yeah, no biggie :)
My back still hurts, but is loosening up, so I did run today, on the mill, 4.10 miles, with 0-2% inclines, 6.0mph-6.6mph, I felt pretty good, other than my back. And I did some abs. Because of how badly I've been eating (left over cake and ice cream everyday, + alcoholic beverages, thought only like maybe 1 or 2 drinks, like every other day or so, its still empty calories! my body loves to hold on to alcohol calories and sweets calories...I can eat cheese and other garbage all day long and never gain weight, but if I have a beer or eat dessert, forget it!) I now weigh like 125 or more :( I liked it better when I was like 122. Maybe I am gaining myo? I doubt it, its only been a week of working out...ahhh...but I love junk food. oh well.
Then Aaron came over in the afternoon and we went to his Mom's after Kelly's nap and hung out with her until evening, then we all went out to eat at Wyatt's. Again, Layla slept through dinner (I woke her up to feed her before we left, so I wouldn't have to at the restaurant) and it was a success. When we got home after, Aaron went back to his hotel, I put Kelly to bed then woke Layla up to change her diaper, and feed her, and now she is asleep. So strange she can be so fussy for so many days, then have an amazingly happy-sleepy day and night. Its a nice break (hopefully I'm not jinxing myself but saying something).
Ok, I am going to bed so tired, but in a good way! :)
No comments:
Post a Comment