Wednesday, June 22, 2011

cloth diapering, physical therapy, speech therapy

So, lets catch up on a few things..

C/L/O/T/H D/I/A/P/E/R/S

I honestly think people are lying when they call themselves "cloth diapering addicts." Give me a break, you are addicting to smelling ammonia, flicking poop into the toilet, and washing laundry, sometimes washing the same load up to 3 times? I don't think so! Ha! BUT, I will say, I am getting the hang of it, sorta. We can get through an entire day without an accident, but then I am also changing Kelly's diaper as often, or more, then little Layla-bug...so, then creating a load of laundry. If I can get them in the wash the same day she wears them, then I don't smell the ammonia and only pre-wash it, then wash it once. I don't follow the instructions that say to wash them in COLD water. I have tried that, it takes 3 or more times to get them clean, so forget that,I use at least WARM water and if they last, they last, if they don't then I stop cloth diapering. I still put her in disposable diapers if we are going to be out for a few hours, or when I put her to bed, because I don't want to have to deal with accidents, and that seems to work. I don't understand how they could possibly save anyone money though, personally, I think my time is worth a lot, thanks.

/P/H/Y/S/I/C/A/L/  /T/H/E/R/A/P/Y/
I've been going twice a week now for the past 2 weeks, so far I really like it. Unfortunately it is really hard for me to get all my exercises in that I am supposed to be doing, but I get it done for the most part (I should be doing it right now since the babies are asleep...). My Therapist, Maggie, is really awesome, she has 2 daughters that are also about 23 months apart, but they are 4 & 6 now, and she assures me that it does get easier. We run through a series that she uses to re-align my hips and help even out my legs. Then she also does this thing to try to turn my hips, or rather my illiac crests in the correct direction to take pressure off my symphysis pubis. Lastly, she does the soft tissue massage of the front, so right on my hip bones pretty much, then the back, which is basically my bum. I have S-I (sacral illiac) issues, left sacral torsion, hips are constantly out of alignment, and symphysis pubis separation. I think we are already making some progress. My home exercises include the following: (all of them are done twice a day)
  • 10 pelvic tilts into bridge, holding for 10 seconds each
  • piriphormus strech, holding for 45-60 seconds, x2
  • hip-flexor stretch, using dining room table, holding 45-60 seconds, x2
  • 30 abductions using green band
  • 30 adductions with 2 fists between my thighs
  • adducting with fist between thighs everytime I sit or stand up (this one I always forget)
  • massage of bum when at the gym with the foam roller
I hope that I can complete therapy before having to go back to Fayetteville in August...

/S/P/E/E/C/H/  /T/H/E/R/A/P/Y/
Kelly had her follow up to her initial evaluation last week. No surprise, she has an expressive speech delay, but not as bad as I thought. She is rated as being 1 year 8 months, and is lagging just a little on pragmatic skills (i.e. playing with others, sharing, manners [she generally always signs "please" and "thank you", in her own way). So, she will receive therapy once a week for 30 mins, for the next year. Again, I really hope we just move here, so we don't have to go through all this bullshit again. I have been trying to get her back into speech therapy for the entire time we have been here! That's 7 weeks! We will be here 6 more weeks, and hopefully just moving back, but geez, it takes forever to get anything done. I wish the therapists made home visits, like the one in Fayetteville. Before, Kelly just got it while at daycare, from the same therapist, every Wednesday, at the same time. Now however, it will be from probably not the same therapist each week, and a different day & time from week to week---really annoying.

So, between me working out when I can (almost everyday), going to PT, taking Kelly to ST, taking the girls to the park when I can, going to Toddler Time at the library on Thursdays, we are really busy! I can honestly say I don't watch as much TV as I once did just a short time ago. I really wish I had my own car to drive here. Its really a pain trying to coordinate with my mom or sister for a vehicle. I wish Aaron would let me put money towards a down payment for a car, since getting my old Honda which is still sitting in the driveway fixed is not an option. I want to trade the car in, and put some money towards a car to help my mom out, because then she wouldn't have to buy my brother Ryan a car, and then she could put the rest of the money down, but he doesn't want to do that. I don't think he understands how inconvenient it really is, but oh well, whatever.

I don't mean to count down the last 6 weeks, because I know it means we are leaving Colorado and unless we move here, who knows when we will be able to come back, with 2 babies and all, that adds an extra ticket we'd have to buy, not to mention the hassle. But, I already miss Aaron and miss our little life we have in our own house together, even though its in a shit-hole. Plus I really want to see him graduate. God, I pray we move here and not to Germany or anywhere else.

Ok, gotta get Layla upstairs, feed her, then put us to bed :-)

No comments:

Post a Comment