Things have been incredibly busy since we got here. We have been here about 2 1/2 weeks, and we have already settled in nicely. We just got our property Friday, and what a cluster that was. We still have a couple boxes to unpack. Our bedroom in nice and cozy though, and the girls room is coming together nicely! I got some blackout curtains for the girls room, and can't to hang them up! I also hung up some other pictures in their room. I put my glider up there and it looks great with the crib and Kelly's twin size bed.
The Thursday of this week my mom had the house re-carpeted with new, much nicer stuff. Though hardwood floors would have been a nice touch, having little babies calls for stain-master carpet, not to mention the cost of putting in hardwood. It looks so much better now though!
Everyday the girls and I pretty much go to the YMCA first thing in the morning after breakfast, so they can play and I can get my workout on. Aaron has been meeting me there, and I have been getting in some really good runs and I even started doing weights again. This week I ran about 26 miles, which is good for me. I think I am loosing weight too, not that I care either way. My clothes are just getting baggy on me again. I am sure in no time I will be up again, especially since Blue Bell ice cream was on sale at Kingsooper and I got my favorite, Happy Tracks!
We also got our first snow fall, and how pretty that was. Kelly really liked it and we even went shopping yesterday for some snowboots! Her winter coat from last winter still fits, actually she probably grew into since then, because now it does fit. Kelly is a petite, no doubt about it!
Also in the past couple weeks, I have worked an evening shift at a new place, Nameste, its an Alzheimer unit. I was Charge nurse, which I thought it would be easy since no med pass or treatments, however I was probably busier than everyone else! We had a fall and so lots of paperwork. But in all it was not bad, and good to put my nursepants on again for the first time in almost 6 months. I barely had time to pump, but managed to make some time and not on purpose but drew a lot of attention to myself. (I had to leave my pump out in the room I was pumping in, with the bottles filled with milk to deal with an issue, and when I came back the women were commending me for continuing with breast feeding while trying to go back to work). I got off almost an hour late, but since I got a raise, I was okay with it. Layla did really well without me being there, ate way more milk than I ever thought she would, luckily Aaron was there the whole time and stayed on top of it. She was also very happy to see me when I came home, but not very impressed that I pumped when I got home, not knowing she'd wake up minutes after finishing to eat. Eventually she accepted a bottle and went back to sleep, until we awoke again a couple hours later.
Lately she has been waking up a lot at night. Its pretty tiring. My milk supply finally resumed to the levels they were before I had started the orthotricycline birth control. I had been taking the minipill, but got really paranoid about getting pregnant again, so I started the low-dose orthotricycline. What a disaster! Within 2 weeks my milk supply had almost completely dried up, and we went through 2 large ziplocks of packed frozen breast milk (ever 90 ounces), kind of a bummer, since I only actually worked 1 shift and was therefore around the rest of the time. But, I restarted the minipill a week ago and my supply came back basically completely. I was almost in the clear! haha. No, I'm kidding, its better if I am still nursing, while I am not working full time and Layla is still waking up at night. But that brings me to the next thing.
I have applied for 4 nursing jobs at 3 different hospitals in the last week. I have a phone interview next week for Penrose Hospital. Unfortunately not the one that is 2 miles from my house, but rather the one downtown, like 10 miles away, but that's okay. It is for the ICU or Cardiac step-down unit. I am not sure which one they want to talk to me about. I really want to work in L&D, but am still waiting to hear on a possible contact at Evans hospitals, since the ones up near my house are not hiring. I would love to work at least part time, but would do 3 12s a weeks too. So far things at my mom's have been going great, and I think she is really looking forward to watching the girls. I really would like to pay her too, because then she can continue upgrading the house :)
Aaron goes back to work tomorrow. Sigh. It has been great having him off, though I think we do argue more, so its not a terrible thing per say. I love him though and we went on a fun little date last night after the babies went to bed, for drinks. It was like old times and I don't think we talked about the babes even once, other than when we ran into people we knew and they wanted to see pictures. Its a good thing, since they are all we ever talk about sometimes.
OK, I am starving! Time for a PB&J!
Oh yeah and Aaron and I went on a run together today, it was great. So nice having built in babysitters!!! LOL :) J/K. I love being back here, even crowded into my mom's house. Its like twice as big as our NC house, but also twice as many people. For the most part that is just fine though :)
More to come!
No comments:
Post a Comment