I feel so tired all the time. I know my daily caffeine habit is getting worse, but when I don't indulge I feel like the walking dead. I am trying to cut back, and I don't drink any after 2pm, because I have a hard enough time sleeping.
Any ways, not too much new to say other than we are setting in the familiar routines and making headway in baby rearing fronts. Kelly has been back at Speech Therapy the past 4 weeks, and starting this week she will be going twice a week for 30 mins each, instead of 1. She is making very minimal progress, and its making me very nervous. She doesn't know her colors, other than purple and orange, doesn't know letters, won't even sing the ABC's, only knows the numbers 2, 6,7, &8, but cannot recognize them...and don't get me started with potty training. She will pee in the toilet anywhere but at home! She responds "No" to pretty much anything you ask her, even when she means yes, and everything is still "mine". I wouldn't call 2, terrible, because there is lots of good too. She is very loving to her family, she loves playing outside, playing hide-and-seak, and reading stories. She also loves helping me cook and trying new food while in that mode. ::sigh:: she is exhausting.
Layla is doing fine. I will write a seperate entry for her and about her 6 month well-baby appointment.
Right now I have a bad cold and cannot get my nose to stop running! Probably from working the other night. I picked up a shift at UPH, the overnight. As the only RN in the building, and on the floor (the other 2 floors have just 1 LPN and 2 CNA's), I was the house officer. Basically I think the night went really well, and though I only got a 2 hour nap the morning before, it was only an 8 hour shift, so I had no problem staying awake. Of course the large coffee and starbucks frapp I had while I was there sure helped too! After work I came home, found Layla and Aaron snuggling and joined them for about 2 mins before Layla woke up, nursed her, and then played until Kelly woke up. Then we all went to mass at St. Patricks. We had to leave right after communion however, because it was WAY longer than usual and I kept falling asleep! I ended up taking a 3-4 hours nap when we got home.
I was supposed to work Monday, a day shift, also at UPH, but on the 3rd floor, which I do not like, but was going to do it anyway, but I got canceled because one of the nurses picked up a double. I was kinda disappointed because I had my mind set and everything ready, and didn't get the call until about 4AM! Oh well, there will be others.
Speaking of the job front I finally got my phone interview scheduled for today, in about an hour and 20 mins. I am excited! It is for the Penrose ICU, not my dream job (that would be L&D), but a good alternative. I think its for at least part-time, but can't remember because I applied like 3 weeks ago and since then have applied for like 6 or 7 other jobs.
I have also been selected by my current employer to go full-time as a Case Manager for some place near Cheyenne Mountain, I can't remember the name. Its for full-time, Mon-Fri, 0800-5pm. Doesn't pay great, about $52k/yr, but I am considering it. They know I don't have experience win the area of case management, but are really in need and willing to train me. Basically I would interview, and if I like it and they like me I will be a temp-to-hire, then if it works out I will take it. I am thinking of doing it until at least something else better comes along, because at least then I would be guaranteed hours. I still need to go pick up the information on it today, but I am thinking I will do it. Who knows, maybe I will really like it? It would be good experience to put on a resume too.
wish me luck on my phone interview!
No comments:
Post a Comment